Road soundtrack by Frédéric Bigot
Catriona Shaw and Fred Bigot

Road soundtrack by Frédéric Bigot

Sounds gleaned from American highways

From Thursday, August 25 2011 to Thursday, October 26, 2011, equipped with a mobile recorder, a computer and a car, Frédéric Bigot crossed the United States on the hunt for unusual noises.

During those nine weeks he recorded hundreds of hours of audio material on roads and in cities. From this raw material he has composed 'Road Soundtrack', a 'bande originale' to a road movie without images.

During his research a weekly aural episode was broadcast via Gaite Lyrique's online magazine. Especially designed for the Chambre Sonore, Frédéric Bigot now invites visitors to become flaneurs in an American soundscape. A few important landmarks, events and characters have been documented in the process, including: A crossing in Manhattan; singing tires for different types of asphalt; a humming fridge and melodic air conditioning; cicadas in Chicago; passing hurricanes; geysers, fumaroles, bison and bikers; the voice of a wrinkled motel patron; spluttering mud volcanoes; silence in the face of immensity; Shoshone Falls and Twin Falls; a flat tyre in Nevada; a town called Jackpot; slot machines, automata and mechanical pianos; the wrong train; Polyphonic tourists chatty conversations and electronic beeps; digital cameras at the edge of the Grand Canyon; rolling balls inside a spray can at the Cadillac Ranch; Jim Magas, master storyteller; under the L-train; neighbourhood chat in Detroit; inside the corridors of the Fisher Building with Adam Miller; the Country Music Hall of Fame Nashville; an electrical connection to the Carter Family Fold; walking through Washington DC; the spectral transformation of ebb and flow at Long Beach Island; the lair of JG Thirlwell; crackling neon and grinding metal doors; Jeremy Novak's background Basement tapes; and finally the encyclopedic folk music compendium of Harry Smith.

Exhibitions

Computer Grrrls

Computer Grrrls

History, Gender, Technology

Twenty-three international artists and collectives offer sharp, critical perspectives on digital technology, revisiting the history of women and machines and outlining scenarios for a more inclusive future.

  • Du jeudi 14 mars au dimanche 14 juillet 2019
Visite accompagnée de l'exposition Computer Grrrls

Visite accompagnée de l'exposition Computer Grrrls

Histoire·s, genre·s, technologie·s

Vingt-trois artistes et collectifs internationaux livrent un regard critique et incisif sur les technologies numériques. Elles revisitent l’histoire des femmes et des machines et esquissent des scénarios pour un futur plus inclusif.

  • Du jeudi 14 mars au dimanche 14 juillet 2019
Ouverture nocturne de l'exposition Computer Grrrls

Ouverture nocturne de l'exposition Computer Grrrls

Histoire·s, genre·s, technologie·s

Vingt-trois artistes et collectifs internationaux livrent un regard critique et incisif sur les technologies numériques. Elles revisitent l’histoire des femmes et des machines et esquissent des scénarios pour un futur plus inclusif.

  • Tous les jeudis jusqu'à 22h.
  • Sunday 10 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 9 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 8 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 7 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 6 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 5 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Monday 4 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Sunday 3 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 2 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 1 March 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 28 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 27 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 26 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Monday 25 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Sunday 24 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 23 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 22 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 21 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 20 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 19 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Monday 18 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Sunday 17 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 16 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 15 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 14 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 13 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 12 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Monday 11 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Sunday 10 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 9 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 8 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 7 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 6 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 5 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Monday 4 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Sunday 3 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 2 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 1 February 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 31 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 30 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 29 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Monday 28 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Sunday 27 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 26 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 25 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 24 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 23 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Tuesday 22 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Monday 21 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Sunday 20 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Saturday 19 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Friday 18 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Thursday 17 January 2013 at 14h00
  • Wednesday 16 January 2013 at 14h00